Alberta Premier Rachel Notley made it official last month: Tomorrow, April 16th, 2019, Albertans will go to the polls to vote on who they think should run our province.

Here is some important information about the upcoming election, including information on who is running in your area, links to their bios and platforms, as well as information on how to register to vote.

From the government of Alberta:

Voting registration information.

Election Day is April 16, 2019.

Election Timelines:

  • 87 Returning Officer offices open today across Alberta – check Elections Alberta’s website for contact information.
  • For electors who are away during voting days, a mail-in Special Ballot is available beginning March 19th, 2019.
  • Candidate nominations end at 2:00 p.m. on March 29, 2019.
  • Advance Polls run Tuesday, April 9, 2019 to Saturday, April 13, 2019 from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.

Canadian citizens who reside in Alberta and are at least 18 years of age or older on Election Day are eligible to vote in the provincial general election.

Registering to vote can be completed right now through a self-service process online ( or by contacting the Elections Alberta Call Centre at 1-877-422-VOTE (8683).  The online process requires an Alberta Driver’s License or Identification Card to authenticate the identity of the elector.  No identification is required when registering with the Call Centre.  The Call Centre is open Monday through Friday from 8:15 am to 8 pm and weekends from 10 am to 4 pm.

Electors may also register at an advance poll or on Election Day by providing authorized identification containing their name and residential address in the electoral division.  A list of authorized identification is on our website: (click on “Voters” and then click on “ID required to vote”).

New electoral boundaries are also now in effect and will be reflected on the personalized Where-To-Vote cards mailed out to each registered elector prior to the advance polls.  

More information can be found online at

For more information about the Provincial General Election, visit, call toll free at 1-877-422-VOTE (8683), join us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Elections Alberta is an independent, non-partisan office of the Legislative Assembly responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections and referenda.  

Candidate information for central Alberta:

Click on the candidate's names to be taken to their official party page. 


First elected in 2015 as a member of the Wildrose Party, Ron Orr seeks re-election as a member of the United Conservative Party.

Red Deer North

Seeking her second term, Kim Schreiner first won in the 2015 provincial election.

Red Deer South

Barb Miller is running for re-election after first winning in the 2015 provincial election.

Innisfail-Sylvan Lake

Winning by a landslide in a by-election in July of 2017 following the resignation of United Conservative MLA Don MacIntyre after being charged with sexual interference and sexual assault, rookie MLA Devin Dreeshen is seeking re-election.

Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House- Sundre

First elected in 2015 as a member of the Wildrose Party, Jason Nixon is now seeking re-election under the United Conservative Party banner.


First elected in 2015 in the then called district of Wetaskiwin-Camrose, Bruce Hinkley is seeking re-election in what is now known as the district of Maskwacis-Wetaskiwin.


Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills

More Local News

'Raise the Rink,' a success and 'dream come true'

On April 6th, the Blackfalds Multiplex hosted what will now be its first annual ‘Raise the Rink,’ a night of fun, games, drinks, and dancing for hockey parents who have finished their season.…

Lacombe 'says no' to thieves and scammers

The Central Alberta Crime Prevention Centre gave a presentation on the different ways to protect your yourself, home, and belongings in the event of criminal activity at the Lacombe Memorial Centre.… is Cochrane's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide