During the March 13, 2023,Town of Penhold Regular Council Meeting, Council moved to amend its Emergency Municipal Agency Bylaw to include regional partners.

Amending Bylaw 813/2023 Emergency Municipal Agency Bylaw formalizes participation in the mutual aid agreements between the Town of Penhold, Red Deer County, The City of Red Deer, Town of Innisfail, Town of Sylvan Lake, Town of Bowden, Village of Delburne and Village of Elnora. This approach helps build strong regional partnerships with surrounding communities ensuring the preparation and coordination of the joint municipal emergency plan and related plans and programs for the region.

This regional philosophy will see municipalities working together to establish shared priorities and deploy resources regionally in a coordinated effort, rather than competing against one another for the same resources, ensuring public safety in all areas of the region.

“We take every opportunity to work collaboratively with our neighbours. By forming this regional emergency management body, this will exponentially increase the experience, knowledge and supports available for the region,” said Mayor Mike Yargeau.

The Regional Emergency Management Partnership agreement could be in effect by summer of 2023,once all municipalities involved pass bylaw amendments and endorse the partnership. “We are grateful to be part of such a forward-thinkinggroup of individuals committed to ensuring the best for all citizens in the area,” said Yargeau.