Red Deer Polytechnic (RDP) has recognized eight employees who made extraordinary contributions in serving students, the institution and our communities through innovation. The awards were presented at the annual RDP Awards of Excellence event held on August 29 at Red Deer Polytechnic.

“The dedicated employees we celebrate with these awards ensure our continued growth and success as a relevant, learner-centered Polytechnic,” says Stuart Cullum, President, Red Deer Polytechnic.

This year, 18 employees were nominated by their peers in recognition of demonstrating excellence in innovation, teaching, service to their community or profession and leadership. RDP is pleased to announce the following 2023 Awards of Excellence Recipients:

• Excellence in Innovation

o Natalie Ford, Nursing Instructor, School of Health and Wellness. Recognized for her innovative approach to teaching and course development to enhance the learning experience for students.

o Guriqbal Munday, Industrial Research Associate, Centre for Innovation in Manufacturing (CIM-TAC). Recognized for significant contributions to RDP’s advanced manufacturing and innovation applied research program, which includes leading the design of a solar panel cleaner for Wash-Bots.

• Excellence in Service

o Krista Baumgartner, Operations Manager, Donald School of Business, Science and Computing. Recognized for her service in creating enhanced programming and fostering an environment of collaboration and diversity.

o Alicia Cafferata, Applied Research Specialist in the CIM-TAC. Recognized for her talent and expertise in advancing the institution's capacity to conduct applied research through securing several research grants.

• Excellence in Teaching

o Maggie Convey, Nursing Educator and Student Support Chair, Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program, School of Health and Wellness. Recognized for her integral role in the creation of policies and procedures that have enhanced the delivery of RDP’s Nursing programming.

o Dr. Bryan Rowsell, Physical Sciences Instructor, Donald School of Business, Science and Computing. Recognized for his leadership in creating a learner-centric environment to ensure student success, that is built on increased collaboration between instructors to deliver enhanced academic experiences.

• Excellence in Leadership

o Dr. Maureen Toews, former Associate Vice President of Teaching, Learning and Research. Recognized for her leadership to create strong industry and community partnerships in support of applied research and work-integrated learning opportunities for students.

o Dr. Tonya Wolfe, Associate Vice President, Applied Research. Recognized for her immense contributions in growing the applied research programs in the Centres for Manufacturing and Energy Innovation.

For information about the 2023 Awards of Excellence, including a list of all nominees, please visit:


In response to Canada's Online News Act and Meta (Facebook and Instagram) removing access to local news from their platforms, Lacombe Online encourages you to get your news directly from your trusted source by bookmarking this page and downloading the Lacombe Online app.