During the Alberta Municipalities annual conference each year outstanding municipal professionals from across Alberta are recognized for their collaboration, dedication and commitment to excellence. During the President’s Dinner, held in Calgary on September 20, 2022, Penhold Mayor Mike Yargeau was awarded an Alberta Municipalities Award of Excellence.

This award recognizes outstanding civic leadership by past and present municipal elected officials who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of municipal politics. Recipients of this award are chosen by the Alberta Municipalities award committee based on their demonstrated leadership in local, provincial and national capacities.

“I want to acknowledge my council and the council's I've served with before this term. I don't think I'm deserving of this award without the contribution and support of my friends and colleagues with the town of Penhold. This is something that I take a lot of pride in and will continue to work for as long as I serve,” said Yargeau.

Yargeau has been involved in local politics since he was 12 years old going door-to-door with his mom handing out campaign pamphlets for local politicians. Throughout his youth, Yargeau’s dedication to serving the community remained strong as he worked with local politicians on campaigns before blazing a path of his own to become one of the youngest Mayors in Alberta during the 2017 Municipal Election.

“I have spent my time in elected politics working with colleagues from all over Central Alberta to find common ground and work together. Whether it’s with seniors housing, economic development, or regional transit, I have worked to build a better Alberta through regional collaboration,” says Yargeau.