On June 17th, 2022, the Alberta government, Lacombe Police Service, and Lacombe & District Family and Community Support Services (FCSS) held the 31st annual Alberta Community Justice Awards at the Lacombe Memorial Centre.

The event celebrates Albertans who strive to prevent crime and promote restorative justice in their neighbourhoods, towns, and cities.

This is the first time that the event has been hosted in a community outside of Edmonton or Calgary and recipients received awards in the following five categories: leadership, innovation, community mobilization, partnerships and collaboration, and service enhancement. In all, fourteen organizations and individuals were recognized with awards including the following:

  • African Canadian Civic Engagement Council (Edmonton)
  • Edmonton Police Service – Human-Centred Engagement & Liaison Partnership
  • Edmonton SHIFT Lab
  • Islamic Family and Social Services Association (Edmonton)
  • Sarah Doolittle and Fletcher, Zebra Child Protection Centre (Edmonton)
  • Jessica Buffalo, Legal Aid Alberta (Calgary)
  • Debbie Leitch, Rural Red Deer Restorative Justice (Blackfalds)
  • China Sieger, Peace Regional Restorative Justice (Fairview/Peace River)
  • East Calgary Ambassador Program
  • Edson Citizens on Patrol
  • Kathleen Quinn, Centre to End All Sexual Exploitation (Edmonton)
  • The Watch Project (Lethbridge)
  • Alberta Specialized Police and Court Support Network
  • Emergency Protection Order Program, Legal Aid Alberta (Edmonton/Calgary)

A special celebration included local talents, Ron Nelson, Kailyn Esteves, and Running Thunder paying tribute to the award recipients. Elder Theresa ‘Corky’ Larsen-Jonasson provided the blessing for the awards.

Dignitaries in attendance included; Tyler Shandro, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General - Ron Orr, Minister of Culture and MLA of Lacombe-Ponoka, Adriana LaGrange, Minister of Education and MLA of Red Deer – North, Grant Creasey, Mayor of the City of Lacombe as well as representatives from the Alberta Association of Chiefs of Police, various Boards members, and federal and provincial crime prevention organizations.

“Whether they’re helping Albertans fight racism and inequality, doing street-level work to deter crime or helping individuals navigate the legal system, the recipients of this year’s Alberta Community Justice Awards have all helped make this province a safer, more community-minded place," said Tyler Shandro, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General. 

“Hosting the prestigious Alberta Community Justice Awards was a very special opportunity for the Lacombe Police, Lacombe FCSS, and our City. Many special citizens that have passion for their programs and whose contributions make a big impact on their community were recognized on Friday," said Crystal Zens, Executive Director of Lacombe & District Family and Community Support Services.